Review: Holding my Breath (Carried Away #2) by AM Hartnett

9781499715620_p0_v1_s260x420

Title: Holding my Breath
Author: AM Hartnett
Publisher/Year: HaperCollins Publishing 8/28/14
Length: 200
Series: Carried Away Series #2

Overview

Molly has watched that blue-eyed seducer for months, but now that her hotel is targeting a more family-friendly clientele, he has to go. Quinn wants to bargain: give him until New Year’s Eve, and he’ll make it worth her while.A passionate erotic romance perfect for fans of Sylvia Day. Book 2 in the Carried Away series.“It’s a skill not every man possesses, and it can’t be taught. That’s why I’m good at what I do.”For half his life Quinn has been making his living as a professional Casanova. Challenged by Molly to take his business elsewhere, he strikes a bargain with her: give him until New Year’s Eve and she’ll never see him again, and in the meantime he’ll make it worth her while.As their arrangement becomes a passionate affair, there’s no denying that Molly’s been waiting for him to come into her life for a very long time. She never imagined that a man like Quinn would be the one.

My Thoughts

Where do I begin.  If you guys haven’t noticed, it’s been several days since i posted an actual review of a book, and that’s not my norm.  I find that it usually takes me 2 days to read a book, 3 max depending on my schedule, and it’s been much longer.  That’s kind of telling in my opinion.  What we have here is a 2nd book of a series that I had higher hopes for – not that i loved book 1, but i was kind of hoping that book 2 would be better since that’s been my experience with other authors.  not the case here – i’m sorry to say.

What the story gives us is a tale of 2 character that have their own demons, which they don’t really overcome – just somewhat…in a round about way.

We have our leading female – Molly who is coming out of a marriage that wasn’t quite satisfying to her, especially after the loss of a baby – and she’s in a job that’s not really fulfilling.  She works in a hotel as the front desk manager and the property has been bought from Werner-Tareau (the link to book 1) and is going to go from high end to family friendly.  ick!  Then we have our leading man – Quinn who has a checkered past, being somewhat homeless for a while and really spent a lot of time hanging with the wrong crowd (this is his connection to Simon).  In addition, he’s got an interesting ‘freelance consulting’ business as Molly puts it  in the sense that he’s a male escort.

So, take all this, and we get the basis for a story that could be sordid but doesn’t really ever get there.  Molly confronts Quinn one night about what he does in her hotel and that turns into an interesting night – where there’s some bits of passion, but never really going there.  A connection though sparks between them, in the sense that they decide to see where things can go outside of a paying relationship and for the next hundred or so pages, this is what we get.

What bugs me about this book is that he’s a professional, so i’d assume that the passion and heat that he’d bring to their relationship would be more enthralling and it’s just not.  Personally i foudn myself trying really really hard to get in to the story and I just couldn’t.  I stuck with it for the first few scenes between them, but after about 2/3 of the book, i just had to fast forward to the actual story line since i wasn’t getting the chemistry or connection anymore.

I also kept trying to get more of the link between book 1 and book 2 since it’s supposed to be a series, and there really wasn’t anything that tied things together.  There was an appearance of Simon and the fact that the hotel that Molly worked at was once owned by Jacques – but that’s it, so it felt more like a stand alone book to me.

At the end, we get some resolution from things in each of their lives, but no real finale or culmination of it all.  Not that we need to have big proclamations or anything, it felt like the book just ended – with a reveal from Quinn and baby steps for Molly.  Oh well, can’t have all books be a fave now can we?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s