Review: Addicted (Ethan Frost #2) by Tracey Wolff

9780345539847_p0_v3_s192x300

Title:  Addicted
Author: Tracy Wolff
Publisher/Year:  Random House Publishing 7/15/14
Length:   226 pages
Series:  Ethan Frost #2

Overview

Ethan Frost returns in another breathtaking novel by Tracy Wolff—New York Times and USA Todaybestselling author of Ruined—perfect for fans of Release Me and Bared to You.

As Chloe Girard discovers, there’s love . . . and then there’s addiction.

Ethan Frost is everything a woman could want in a man. He’s rich, gorgeous, powerful, one of the most eligible bachelors in the world.

But that’s not why I’m with him.

I love Ethan for all the things no one else gets to see: his innate kindness, his reckless spontaneity, his unwavering determination to use his brilliance for good. I love the way he looks at me, the way he touches me. The way he makes me forget the wreckage of my past and the twisted fear that still lives inside me.

But sometimes it terrifies me how much I crave him, how much I need him just to breathe. I always thought it would be my past that ruined us, but there’s a darkness in Ethan I never dreamed existed. Can we survive as his secrets surface—threatening to unravel us both?

My Thoughts

Well the story continues with as much angst and heat as the first one brought, yet i think that we spend more time with these 2 fighting than with them together.  It’s sweet yes, but i think that there’s definitely more to come since there are more and more things coming up to make life complicated.

Where we left off in the first book is that we know that Ethan and Brandon are brothers (half brothers) and that there’s so much of Chloe’s past  that will continue to come up as a result of the link there that it means that it’s going to be very very hard for them to find some type of resolve.  That in itself is enough for this story to get more and more complicated.

On top of that, there are so many secrets that keep getting hinted at between everyone in the story – the fact that we don’t know Ethan’s past, and we get to a point finally in this story that we learn bits and pieces that it makes you wonder what else is going to come up.  There’s also a tease that there’s something dark in Tori’s past (Choe’s best friend) but we never get a chance to scratch that surface.  Then there’s the appearance of Miles, Chloe’s brother – and well that never bodes well for anyone, especially since he knows the link between Ethan and Brandon.  And if that weren’t enough, Ethan’s mom shows up and well you know shit’s going to hit the fan.

Throughout this 2nd installment, we get the ups and down of the passion that these two share.  We see that Ethan tries to respect Chloe’s need for distance and space, but it just ends up making things worse.  It’s at a business function that it’s so awkward that Chloe has to leave and well, that may be what pushes him over the edge for her.  Theirs is a love that’s really strong for some reason – such a quick and fast bond that is quite expected in this genre, but so damaging for someone who’s trying to overcome as much as they are.  Of course the only way to deal with that is through heated passion, chemistry that can’t be denied and that’s what we get from our author.

The interesting thing with this series that our author gives us is that each installment has an epilogue that gives us a sense of closure and happiness, yet we know that there’s another installment coming that will actually take place before that epilogue so it’s confusing, but perhaps gives readers a sense of calm before the storm that we know is about hit.  On that note, i finished this 2nd book MUCH faster than i expected (probably because it was so good) so now i have time to jump into #3 before the weekend’s out!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.