Review: Just One Lie (Just One Night #2) by Kyra Davis


Title: Just One Night
Author: Kyra Davis
Publisher/Year:  PocketStar 7/28/15
Length:   368 Pages
Series:  Just One Night #2


In the instant international sensation Just One Night, sensible Kasie Fitzgerald unleashed her passions—and found herself—through an explosive affair. In Just One Lie, we meet Kasie’s wild and tortured sister, whose impulsivity and lack of self-control has set off a chain of events that changes her family forever.

Melody Fitzgerald is the opposite of the “perfect” daughter. The lead singer of an indie rock band, she is impulsive and creative, with a rebellious streak that both defines her and becomes her greatest enemy. Her lover, the enticing and unpredictable Ash, shares her free spirit and penchant for trouble. On the face of it, he seems to be her perfect match.

So why is she so drawn to her soft spoken, reliable drummer, Brad Witmer? How can a man who wears polo shirts and reads the financial section of the paper be of any interest to her at all? And why on earth does someone like that appear to be so captivated by her?

Before she knows it, Melody finds herself on a path of self-discovery, passion, and affairs of the heart. But will a dark secret from her past derail it all? Or will its exposure be the very thing that unburdens her heart and allows her to seek a future with the one man who loves her completely?

My Thoughts

From the first installment in the series we learned that Kasie had a sister but one who passed away from an overdose.  In the novella in between, we get to see that she’s quite alive, but only after she contacts Robert to meet Kasie.  So in this next full length installment, we get to see who Mercy/Melody is and what made her into what she’s become.

In this 2nd full installment, we have seen how Mercy’s life started once her parents decided that they were going to proclaim her death.  Because of that, Mercy’s found herself on her own, trying to get by, and in doing that, she’s started a band called Resurrection.  They are moderately successful, playing in small locations in and around LA and she’s befriended her bandmates.  It’s the arrival of a new drummer, and the return of a past fling that truly throw her life in to a tailspin.

See – one of the biggest issues that Mercy has had all her life is that she’s felt unloved, like she’s not enough, and this has made her self destructive.  While she knows that she needs to change, she can’t allow someone to save her.  She needs to figure out how to save herself.

So this story takes us on that journey, where she’s in love, loses that love, harms herself and comes to a realization that there’s more to life.  We get several jumps ahead into the future while this is happening.  We see how her romances with various guys really make an impact on her, and we see how some of those are things that stories are made up – where there’s so much love and passion and connection that even years later, you’re still bound to them.

Because of one of those such loves, she finds her ‘home’ again, and she finds a way to be happy, and to be happy with someone else.  It’s only then that her life truly starts to take shape and get better.  We see that she’s making the right choices not just for her but for her family now, and that’s driving her success.  The downside to success though is that people dig, and when they dig- secrets come out.  This is what leads Mercy to Robert’s office in the hopes of finding Kasie – and that’s where our story continues.

All in all, a great 2nd installment from Ms Davis.  What i found is that maybe it didn’t quite have the same passion as the others that i’ve read by her, but there’s definitely steam and heat when we read about Ash, and Brad in their appropriate segments of the story.  There’s a great flow to the story, and i love how we were kept interested and intrigued throughout.  Onto the next now – so have a great day all!

Leave a Reply